Monday, 14 September 2015

VISA for Indian passport (Tourism)

Visa is an official authorization appended to a passport, permitting entry into and travel within a particular country or region.
 In 2014, Indian citizens had visa-free or visa-on-arrival access to 52 countries and territories, ranking the Indian passport 76th in the world.

Visa on Arrival-
 The following countries have Visa on Arrival for Indians -
Bolivia – 90 days,Burundi – 30 days; obtainable at Bujumbura International Airport,Cambodia – 30 days,Cape Verde,Comoros,Djibouti,Ethiopia,Guinea-Bissau – 90 days,Guyana – 30 days provided holding confirmation, issued by the Ministry of Home Affairs,Hong Kong,Indonesia – 30 days,Jordan – 2 weeks, must hold US$ 3000,Kenya – 3 months,Laos – 30 days,Macau,Madagascar – 90 days,Maldives – 90 days,Nauru,Palau – 30 days,Saint Lucia – 6 weeks,Samoa – 60 days,Sri Lanka,Seychelles – 1 month,Thailand.

You might have to fill the Visa application on arrival so carry Local currency for visa fees and 2 passport size photos.

While for other countries you will have to apply for a visa.

A filled visa application with the following documents has to be submitted to the embassy.
-    Original passport(valid for at least next 6 months and not older than ten years)
-    Filled Visa application
-    Visa fee
-    2 Passport size photographs
-    Last 3 months updated bank statements with bank seal on it.
-    Tour Itinerary.
-    Medical insurance for Schengen visa
-    Hotel reservations.
-    Confirmed return tickets
-    2 photocopy of your passport.
-    Last 3 months Salary Slip.
-    For Spouse - Marriage certificate

 You might need some specific documents for few countries.
You can find out from the embassy in your city.

Schengen Visa-If you intend to visit several Schengen countries and if you don't have a main destination or if you are going to spend an equal number of nights in multiple Schengen countries, you must apply for a visa at the embassy/consulate of the country which is your first port of entry.

E Visa-

Few countries give E Visas as well to Indians.
The Electronic Visa (e-Visa) Application System was launched on 17 April 2013 by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Turkey. This system allows visitors travelling to Turkey to easily obtain their e-Visas online (, in approximately three minutes. 
If you hold a valid supporting document (Schengen visa or a valid visa from any of the OECD member countries; or a valid residence permit of a Schengen or OECD country).You can get the e visa.

Sri Lanka-

All applications would be submitted via a new electronic visa (e-Visa) application system that allows visas to be processed online. Applications must be submitted to any of the authorised visa agents. Applicants whose application has been approved, can have the e-Visa printed online by the authorised visa agents. 

Transit Visa-
A transit visa is a temporary short period visa during your journey. Some countries require that you have a stop over of minimum of 24 hours to grant you a transit visa. But Singapore provides a transit visa for a stop over as small as 4 hours.

United States-A citizen of a foreign country(India) traveling in immediate and continuous transit through the United States enroute to a foreign destination requires a valid transit visa. Exceptions to this requirement include those travelers eligible to transit the United States without a visa under the Visa Waiver Program.

 Canada-Indian passport holders in possession of a valid visa to USA and traveling to USA via Canada require a Canadian Transit Visa.

Schengen countires-Transit visa types under the Uniform Schengen visa-

Airport transit visa – “A” Category is destined for the travellers that have to stop and wait for several hours for their next flight, in the international transit area of the designated airport. However, if planned to wait overnight, these travellers cannot accommodate in any place else except the transit area therefore accommodation in the city is off the limits.

Transit visa – “B” Category is destined for the travellers planning to travel through different Schengen countries by car or travel through different Schengen airports to a non-Schengen country for as a final destination. Under the transit visa one is allowed to reside in a Schengen area for a maximum of 5 days.
 Indian nationals can Transit without Visa via FRA or MUC if holding a valid visa for the destination and a valid Visa for any of the following countries-Bulgaria, Canada, Cyprus, Ireland, Japan, Liechtenstein, Romania, UK and USA (the approval notice I-797 is not valid document for visa free airport transit).

Please note: Visa requirements keep changing for every country.